Gyokushin Shinto Ryu

Using the Wakizashi with the left hand

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu - Iaido mit dem Wakizashi

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu is a Mugai Ryu rooted Iai and Kenjutsu Style using just the Wakizashi / Kodachi (short sword). The special thing about it is, that it is only using the left hand.

The style was devised by Niina Gyokudo Toyoaki Soke based on Mugai Ryu and Shinto Ryu. The impulse came because of japanese lady who really wanted to learn Iai and Kenjutsu. Because of her missing right hand it was impossible for her until now, so Niina Gosoke thought about a solution and created Gyokushin Shinto Ryu. This is not only in Japan unique and carries the spirit of Mugai Ryu, giving everybody regardless of nationality, believe, social status and everything else the oppurtunity to learn the art of the Samurai.

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu - Niina Soke

But the style is not only for people who cannot use their left hand interesting. It is an extremely realistic and effective art complete with 16 Iaido Kata and 16 Kumitachi / Kenjutsu Kata. Even Tameshigiri is taught.

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu Kenjutsu Kumitachi

Normally the Samurai learns only to use the Katana and Wakizashi with both hands or the right hand. The only known Style using the left hand as well, next to Gyokushin Shinto Ryu is Hyoho Niten Ichi Ryu, the style founded by Miyamoto Musashi. In that case it is just used in a supportive manner in the Nito-Seiho, the Kata with two swords. In Gyokushin Shinto Ryu the left hand should be used in the same manner and quality as the right one or both hands with a Katana, which opens a completely new Spectrum to every Iaido, Kenjutsu or Battodo practicioner.

Examples of use are the use of both swords, similar to Niten Ichi Ryu, but adding the Iai component. Furthermore there is the surprise of suddenly using the left hand with the Wakizashi in a fight. Mainly because of the untypical angles and axis, which cannot be used with the right hand or Katana. Or the Samurai hurts or loses his right hand. Another example could be the fight against many opponents, which cornered the Bushi. So the Katana can be used to control one group and the Kodachi to control the other one, or counter the other with a Iai Kata using the Wakizashi. Maybe the Samurai carries the Katana in the right hand and cannot draw it fastly, so he can use the left hand with the Kodachi instead.

Niina Gyokuo Toyoaki Soke

His words about Gyokushin Shinto Ryu

Niina Gyokudo Toyoaki Soke

Beginning with iaido and including jo, tanjo, jitte, tanken, and kusari-gama, I have made the effort to provide instruction in budo by opening the door to all people regardless of race, nationality, religion, creed, belief, gender, age, or occupation. Along these same lines, I have also recommended that individuals with disabled legs perform zagi (seated kata) standing, and among my many students, there are individuals who have made steady improvements training in this way.

From ancient times however, in bujutsu that uses the katana like iaido, use of the right hand has been the major premise. Instruction for individuals with disabled right hands has been a long-standing one because this problem cannot be solved by simply switching right with left. This problem is not limited to saya-biki (pulling the sheath back) when drawing the sword. The inability to use both hands in iaido is a major handicap.

Accordingly at this time, I have brought together a system of iai, which I devised requiring only the use of the left hand and absolutely no use of the right, that is based on my mastered techniques of Shintoryu and Mugairyu. The name I have given this style into which I have poured my knowledge is “Gyokushin Shinto-ryu”. (My adopted budo name is “Gyokudo”.)
This iai uses the kodachi, and is made up of 3 basic (kihon) kata, 8 seated (zagi) kata, 8 standing (tachi-waza) kata, and 16 partner practice (kenjutsu/kumi-tachi) kata. Including etiquette (reiho) and even body movements, the strong point (of this style) is that individuals with disabled right hands can train because only the left hand is used.

Since the base of this new system is the koryu bujutsu styles Shintoryu and Mugairyu, which both have histories spanning hundreds of years, it will not be like dancing. Consequently, as a matter of course, through acquisition of the prescribed technical skills, kyu/dan certification, menkyo (license), and scrolls will be rewarded as in Mugairyu.

It would be wonderful if individuals who gave up the idea of iai training due to this sort of disability could experience the greatness and pleasure of iai and kenjutsu.

  • Individuals with hearing disabilities can train along with healthy persons without major differences.
  • Individuals with disabled legs can train in the same way as persons with injured knees.
  • Without major differences in training, individuals with disabled left hands can also train along side those without handicaps.

Gyokushin Shinto Iai Kata

An overview of the system

Kihon

  • Kihon Ichi
  • Kihon Ni
  • Kihon San

Tachiwaza

  • Kyouji
  • Engetsu
  • Hakuro
  • Senpei
  • Chuuzan
  • Tokunou
  • Mukyuu
  • Ushou

Zagi

  • Untou
  • Chitatsu
  • Utsuu
  • Rakuyou
  • Buchou
  • Sunin
  • Shuuhatsu
  • Chitsuri

Gyokushin Shinto Kenjutsu / Kumitachi Kata

An overview of the system

Tachiwaza

  • Kyougou
  • Reisui
  • Kankei
  • Kenki
  • Katei
  • Buchou
  • Jouwa
  • Tenchi
  • Ryuushi
  • Soukyuu
  • Seishin

Zagi

  • Kouin
  • Chuushou
  • Shoumei
  • Meihau
  • Nichiken

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu

Das Führen des Wakizashi mit der linken Hand

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu - Iaido mit dem Wakizashi

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu ist ein Iai- und Kenjutsu Stil, in dem das Wakizashi (Kurzschwert) mit der linken Hand geführt wird. Das besondere an diesem Stil ist, dass alle Techniken allein mit der linken Hand ausgeführt werden.

Der Stil wurde von Niina Gyokudo Toyoaki Soke aus dem Mugai Ryu entwickelt. Anlass dazu war, dass eine Dame aus Japan den Wunsch hatte, unbedingt Iai- und Kenjutsu zu lernen. Aufgrund ihrer fehlenden rechten Hand war es für sie unmöglich, was Niina Gosoke dazu brachte, Gyokushin Shintoryu zu erschaffen. Dies ist nicht nur in Japan absolut einzigartig und trägt den Gedanken des Mugai Ryu weiter, der besagt, dass jeder, unabhängig von Nationalität, Glauben, sozialem Status und seiner eventuellen körperlichen Einschränkung die Möglichkeit haben soll, die Kunst des Bushido zu erlernen.

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu - Niina Soke

Aber nicht nur für Menschen, die die rechte Hand nicht benutzen können, ist dieser Schwert-Stil interessant. Es ist eine äußerst effektive Stilrichtung, die komplett mit 16 Iaido Kata und 16 Kumitachi / Kenjutsu Kata ausgestattet ist. Selbst Tameshigiri wird unterrichtet.

Gyokushin Shinto Ryu Kenjutsu Kumitachi

Der Samurai lernt normalerweise, Katana und Wakizashi zweihändig oder mit der rechten Hand zu nutzen. Der einzige Stil der neben Gyokushin Shinto Ryu, der das Wakizashi auch mit der linken Hand nutzt, ist Hyoho Niten Ichi Ryu, der Stil von Miyamoto Musashi. In diesem Fall jedoch nur unterstützend bei den Nito-Seiho, den zweihändigen Kata. Im Gyokkushin Shinto Ryu soll die linke Hand mit dem Wakizashi genauso gut funktionieren wie die rechte, oder beide zusammen mit dem Katana. Dies eröffnet ein komplett neues Spektrum für jeden Iaido-, Kenutsu- oder Battodo-Praktizierenden.

Anwendungsbeispiele sind unter anderem das Nutzen beider Schwerter, ähnlich wie im Niten Ichi Ryu, wobei die Iai-Komponente hinzukommt. Außerdem kann es ein Überraschungseffekt sein, plötzlich die linke Hand und das Wakizashi zu nutzen, vor allem, da extrem untypische und mit der rechten Hand bzw. dem Katana nicht ausführbare Winkel und Achsen genutzt werden können. Es kann auch jedem Samurai passieren, dass die rechte Hand verletzt oder nicht mehr nutzbar wird. Ein weiteres Beispiel wäre der Kampf gegen eine Gruppe von Gegnern, die umzingelnd angreifen. So kann das Katana in der Rechten genutzt werden, um die eine Seite zu kontrollieren, und das Wakizashi in der Linken kann Angriffe von links direkt aus der Saya heraus kontern. Oder einfach, weil man das Katana geschlossen in der rechten Hand trägt und so gezwungen ist, die Linke zu nutzen.

Niina Gyokuo Toyoaki Soke

Ein paar Worte über Gyokushin Shinto Ryu

Niina Gyokudo Toyoaki Soke

Angefangen mit Iaido, bis hin zu Jo, Tanjo, Jitte, Tanken und Kusarigama, habe ich mich bemüht, Budo und Bujutsu an Menschen, unabhängig der Rasse, Nationalität, Religion, Glauben, Geschlecht, Alter, oder dem Beruf zu lehren. Menschen, die Probleme mit ihren Beinen haben, habe ich alle sitzenden Kata im Stehen gelehrt und adaptiert.

Es war aber schon immer eine unabdingbare Basis, sowohl im Iai- als auch im Kenjutsu, die rechte Hand zu nutzen. Es gestaltete sich zudem schwierig, Menschen mit einer Behinderung der rechten Hand zu unterrichten, da man nicht einfach alles umdrehen konnte. Das Problem hängt nicht nur mit dem Ziehen und dem dazugehörigen Saya-Biki (das zurückziehen der Scheide) zusammen, das fehlen der rechten Hand ist ein großes Handicap im Iai.

Demzufolge habe ich ein System aus meiner Erfahrung und Meisterschaft von Mugai Ryu und Shintoryu geschaffen, das alleine mit der linken Hand ausgeführt werden kann und die rechte Hand nicht benötigt. Ich gab dem Stil den Namen Gyokushin Shinto Ryu, aus meinem Go (Budo-Namen), Gyokudo.

Dieser Stil nutzt das Kodachi und hat 3 Kihon (Basis) Kata, 8 Tachiwaza (stehende Kata), 8 Zagi (sitzende Kata) und 16 Kenjutsu/Kumitachi Kata (Partnerandwendungen).

Aufgrund der Wurzeln dieses Stil in den Koryu (Mugai Ryu und Shinto Ryu) ist es voll anwendbares, realistisches Iai. Das System der Kyu/Dan-Zertifikationen und Menkyo ist wie im Mugai Ryu.

Es ist mir eine große Freude, wenn ich Menschen, die sonst nicht die Möglichkeit haben, Iai und Kenjutsu zu trainieren, die Chance geben könnte, den Weg des Samurai zu bestreiten und die Freude am Iai zu erfahren.

  • Menschen mit Hörproblemen oder Behinderungen können ohne Einbußen Seite an Seite mit den anderen trainieren.
  • Menschen mit Beinproblem oder Behinderungen können auf die gleiche Weise trainieren, wie jemand mit verletzen Knien.
  • Menschen mit Behinderungen an der linken Hand können problemlos Iai lernen.

Gyokushin Shinto Iai Kata

Ein Überblick über das System

Kihon

  • Kihon Ichi
  • Kihon Ni
  • Kihon San

Tachiwaza

  • Kyouji
  • Engetsu
  • Hakuro
  • Senpei
  • Chuuzan
  • Tokunou
  • Mukyuu
  • Ushou

Zagi

  • Untou
  • Chitatsu
  • Utsuu
  • Rakuyou
  • Buchou
  • Sunin
  • Shuuhatsu
  • Chitsuri

Gyokushin Shinto Kenjutsu / Kumitachi Kata

Ein Überblick über das System

Tachiwaza

  • Kyougou
  • Reisui
  • Kankei
  • Kenki
  • Katei
  • Buchou
  • Jouwa
  • Tenchi
  • Ryuushi
  • Soukyuu
  • Seishin

Zagi

  • Kouin
  • Chuushou
  • Shoumei
  • Meihau
  • Nichiken